Theo C. Presents…SummerSlamGust – My SummerSlam Retrospective: SummerSlam 2012 Predictions

SummerSlam 2014 Predictions

SummerSlam is this Sunday and after last year, it has big shoes to follow, but looking at the card, it has the potential of doing just that. Here are my predictions for this Sunday’s event.

*Note* The Kickoff Match hasn’t been confirmed yet. Once the match has been confirmed I will predict it via Twitter. THANKS!!

Poster

WWE SummerSlam 2014
Sunday August 17th, 2014
Staples Center
Los Angeles, California

Lumberjack Match Dean Ambrose vs. Seth Rollins

Lumberjack Match
Dean Ambrose vs. Seth Rollins

Opinion: Now people would complain about this type of match happening in a feud between two former SHIELD Members. But the way they explain it…Maybe it can work out well. Maybe Dean Ambrose has a different definition of Lumberjack Match than we all think…Who knows. But it can be an awesome match between the two no matter the stipulation. Really hard to predict the winner but for the sake of this blog. I will say Ambrose will win but don’t be shock if Rollins win to keep the feud going. Plus since it is a Lumberjack Match…It gives me a damn good excuse to do THIS!!!!

Prediction: Dean Ambrose def. Seth Rollins

WWE Intercontinental Championship The Miz (c) vs. Dolph Ziggler

WWE Intercontinental Championship
The Miz (c) vs. Dolph Ziggler

Opinion: These two pulled off one hell of a non-title match not that long ago on RAW so it’s natural that these two face off for the title. Now I like Dolph but Miz has the title for about a month and it would be too soon for him to give it up. I see Miz win via shenanigans and maybe the feud will continue from there

Prediction: The Miz def. Dolph Ziggler to retain the Intercontinental Championship.

Roman Reigns vs. Randy Orton

Roman Reigns vs. Randy Orton

Opinion: I ask this question…What would Randy Orton gain if he wins against Roman Reigns. It’s obvious they are grooming Reigns to be the next #1 Star in WWE and to have him lose to Orton on one the biggest WWE events of the year will hurt it big time. I see Reigns winning it and those who think differently…Man, I don’t know what to say about ya.

Prediction: Roman Reigns def. Randy Orton

WWE Divas Championship AJ Lee (c) vs. Paige

WWE Divas Championship
AJ Lee (c) vs. Paige

Opinion: Their last match t Battleground was good but has room to improve to make it better. SummerSlam could be the match that both Divas show why they are the top two divas in the WWE. The storyline has been okay at best but hopefully the match can deliver and showcase their talents. Another difficult one here but I will say if they want to have these two exchange the title, I say Paige will win to keep the feud going

Prediction: Paige def. AJ Lee to become the NEW WWE Divas Champion.

Flag Match Jack Swagger with Zeb Coulter vs. Rusev with Lana

Flag Match
Jack Swagger with Zeb Coulter vs. Rusev with Lana

Opinion: The Flag Match is as old school as you can get. Now if you told me about around WrestleMania time that Jack Swagger would be a convincing face in the WWE, you said that I’m a damn fool. But they actually pulled it off so far. Rusev has been a buzzsaw since being brought up to the main roster and hasn’t suffered a pinfall loss. A Flag Match can have Rusev lose but still have that claim of him not being pinned. So on this, I say Swagger is taking this one to keep the feud between them going.

Prediction: Jack Swagger def. Rusev

Brie Bella vs. Stephanie McMahon

Brie Bella vs. Stephanie McMahon

Opinion: It’s the Yes Movement vs. The Authority Wives Edition! lol But seriously up until Monday on RAW, where I think they tried the Claire Lynch route and no one was buying that if it was on sale at a Dollar Tree for half off…But before…THAT…The build up is pretty damn good. It closed out 2 out of the past 3 RAWs. Both Stephanie and Brie are working hard to make the match a good one and I really hope they do. As for the match, it would be cool to see Steph get hers. But I see Nikki Bella turn heel and Stephanie to win it so this feud can continue until Brie’s wife Daniel Bryan returns.

Prediction: Stephanie McMahon def. Brie Bella

Chris Jericho vs. Bray Wyatt

Chris Jericho vs. Bray Wyatt

Opinion: At Battleground, Jericho got the win…I think it is fair that Bray gets his win back at SummerSlam so they may have a rubber match at Night Of Champions. Plus, having Harper & Rowan banned from ringside could give a chance for Bray to prove that he can do this on his own and can be as dangerous with or without the Family. There is no sense in having Jericho winning the second time against Wyatt. Jericho has always been known as a classy guy in putting new stars over so I see Wyatt taking the win here.

Prediction: Bray Wyatt def. Chris Jericho

WWE World Heavyweight Championship John Cena (c) vs. Brock Lesnar with Pauk Heyman

WWE World Heavyweight Championship
John Cena (c) vs. Brock Lesnar with Paul Heyman

Opinion: The match this whole SummerSlam has been focused on…Cena vs. Lesnar…The Fight of The Summer for the WWE World Heavyweight Championship…Now these two have fought twice. Lesnar won the first, Cena the second…So this is the rubber match between the two…Plus I like the old school feel to this feud. Have the two participants and Paul Heyman hype up the match and make it mean something and they did that. Plus, don’t have them fight each other until they get in the ring for the Pay Per View…Have them wait before they butt heads to keep up the hype. Really good work from WWE there. As for the match, it really depends on Brock’s schedule and how WWE will handle it. But I don’t see the man that ended the Undertaker’s WrestleMania Streak and has the biggest momentum of any Superstar get fed to “The Last Son Of Krypton” (Yeah, Yeah, SuperCena joke). If that happened, not only did Brock’s win mean nothing…THE UNDERTAKER’S STREAK WOULD MEAN NOTHING ALL BECAUSE THE WWE WOULD RATHER STOKE THE EGO OF JOHN CENA AS BEING THE GREATEST WORLD CHAMPION IN HISTORY!!! I’m hoping Lesnar will win the match and become the WWE World Heavyweight Champion…But I would point out again that it all depends on Brock’s schedule and how it’s going to be handled.

Prediction: Brock Lesnar def. John Cena to become the NEW WWE World Heavyweight Champion

Overall, this looks to be a solid card and I can’t wait to see it this Sunday on the WWE Network…And if you think I’m going to do a $9.99 joke, well…

Anyway, I will be posting my review of the show either hours after the event, Monday or Tuesday, depending on how I feel.

About Theo Clardy

Well, I was born and raised in Southern California and a graduated from Sonora High School in 1999. Right now, I’m just trying to kick back and try to enjoy life to the fullest. People that know me find me to be a funny and interesting guy. I’m pretty much a nice guy and good to get along with once you get to know me. My family and friends is a very important thing in my life. I never have a girlfriend but hopefully I can find that woman of my dreams someday. I know that sounds sappy and pathetic but that’s how I feel. lol

Posted on August 15, 2014, in Pay Per View Predictions, Pro Wrestling, SummerSlamGust. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

